top of page

Just the Beginning

Hi everyone! This is my first post!! I’m nervous to share my experience, but I am hopeful that my story will help others who truly need it. My name is Gianna Matesic. I’m 16 years old and going to be a junior in high school. About a year ago, my life changed overnight. You know those stupid annual doctor appointments that you never want to go to? The one where you get your shots and they check your weight and height? Well, that appointment saved my life. It’s weird to say that something saved your life when you went into it thinking you were absolutely fine. So, I’ll just go right ahead and tell you guys what happened. I got up that morning, dreading going to the pediatrician. I was never afraid of shots or anything, but just going to the doctor makes me nervous. It was an afternoon appointment, so of course I had the whole morning to not look forward to it. I wish time went that fast when you are waiting for something more exciting, like company or a party. The appointment finally came and the nurse called my name from the waiting room. She gave me the “cup” that you pee in and asked for me to give it to her when I was done and then she was going to prick my finger. I never really knew what the finger prick was for, but every time I always thought it was going to hurt more than it actually did. She pricked my finger, covered it with a Band-Aid, and sent both my sister and I to our room. The doctor came in a little while after and my sister, Emma, went first. When it was my turn, she turned to her folder and looked at me again and then back down at the folder. I feel that whenever someone has to take a “double-take” it’s not because every thing is all right. I started to get a little nervous, not going to lie, and my mom and I had an exchange of looks like “what was that?” The doctor left the room without saying anything and I knew something was up. She came back in with a nurse and another device in her hand. She asked me if it was okay if she pricked my finger one more time. She pricked again and then another time after that. Her and the nurse looked very confused at one another. The nurse said, “I’ve never seen this before.” The doctor answered, “Me neither.” She didn’t tell us what was going on or what they were discussing, but she asked my mom if she was able to drive me to Hackensack hospital. I was like wait, what? Hospital? What? Why? My mom looked all frazzled and I can tell she was worried, but she didn’t know what was going on either. The doctor said that they called and told the emergency room we were coming so we wouldn’t have to wait once we arrived. My head was spinning, but I tried to tell myself that nothing was wrong. I don’t think I’ve ever been so confused or nervous. I had no idea what was about to happen and I sure had no idea what the rest of my life was going to be like.

We got to the hospital and walked into the emergency room, where there were tons of kids sitting with their parents who were filling out forms. We told them my name and that my doctor had called about 10 minutes ago. They let me right into another room where a woman was waiting for me. She asked me all these questions and then added, “I think you’ll be fine. You seem like a really sweet kid.” I thought she was saying that because it was true, but know I think she said it because she saw that I was scared and she wanted to comfort me. She led us to another room, where I spent hours in before any doctor came. The hospital was definitely overcrowded. I remember people were sitting in the hallways. Once someone did come, it was pretty much, and I hate to call it this, downhill. One doctor came in, and I remember her curly hair, but nothing else. She told me about blood sugar and believe it or not, I really didn’t know what that was. I was 15 years old at the time and I really didn’t know what the difference was between blood sugar and blood pressure. She told me that my blood sugar was currently in the 600’s. I didn’t know what was a good number or bad, but based on her tone, and my mother’s face, I knew that it wasn’t good. I still didn’t know what it meant, though. Then she started talking about diabetes and how there are two types and that there was a possibility that I could have Type 1. I can’t explain what was going through my head because I don’t think anything was at this point. I was so overwhelmed and it was hard to even understand what was going on around me, or should I say, in me. My mom was now on the phone with my dad, then my doctor. All I knew about diabetes, and at this point it was still just a word to me, was that my cousin, Justin, had it. The doctors were asking me if anyone in my family has had diabetes and I would say, “Yes, my cousin,” and they would scribble in their notebook or type it into the computer. It took hours for me to get out of the emergency room. I don’t remember how long it was, I just remember complaining to my mom as always. I do remember what I ate, though. It was my last meal where I didn’t have to think about what I was eating. I just ate my turkey sandwich, because I was starving, even though I ordered ham. I was hooked up to an IV at this point, but I didn’t know what they were giving me. I was wheeled upstairs in a hospital wheelchair into my very own room. I will never forget the guy who helped us upstairs. He was the sweetest man I ever met and he was so helpful. I think I remember him this way because at this point, this man was the only person actually talking about something other than me or my health. Honestly, it was refreshing. By the time we got up to my own room it was midnight, my dad had already brought me clothes, and my mom was the one who was going to stay with me for the night.

There was so much more I was going to learn in the next few days, even that same night, but I will continue that in my next post! Thank you for reading and listening and I really hope my story can help guide others who are going through something similar. I also want to thank my family and friends for all their support. I couldn’t have gotten through this past year without them.


bottom of page